Nvidia geforce gtx 260 & Skyrim

BlazingSun

Honorable
May 19, 2012
Hey everyone how the heck are ya?
I'm wondering if I can play Skyrim at max settings or near max settings I like to play with a resolution of 1920x1080 but I run into lag or hiccups as I like to call it
here's my specs

nvidia geforce Gtx 260 bfg tech
Intel i5 processor 2.4 ghz
4gb of ddr3 ram
2 ssd hard drives @30gb each in raid mode

My buddy said I should just get more ram but my video card is the very bottom of skyrims recommended video card

I want to run the game looking great with an average fps of 40 I'm thinking?
I tried over clocking my video card but It's not working with nvidia tools
I'm not very good with over clocking and I had a lot of help building my pc

I'm freakin' fantastic how the heck are you?

To be honest your really going to struggle to get your GTX260 to play skyrim at max or near max settings even when overclocked.

If your interested in overclocking I'd suggest using MSI Afterburner, its free and really easy to use.

Zanarias

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2010
From experience (was on GTX 260 Core 216 until I got my 670), you will pretty much not be able to run it even close to max. You'll have to turn things down significantly, with my settings previously being scattered between medium-low.

EDIT: I played at the same resolution and am running with a Phenom II x4 955 BE.

auntarie

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2012
It's pretty CPU-based. Is your i5 a quadcore?

As for the GPU, probably around medium or maybe a bit higher if you turn off FXAA. That's how I ran it- medium to high w/o FXAA at 1280x1024 on a 9800GT, getting 50-60 fps, never dipping below 50. Given that the GTX 260 is quite a bit more powerful than a 9800 GT, I think you should be able to use those settings on a 1080p resolution.

4 gigs of RAM is more than enough, I have 4 gigs and the most I've had used is 2.5 GB. Btw, your SSDs will give you a few (not more than 5) fps.

So yeah, that pretty much sums it up.

auntarie