PyroPhantom

Honorable
Jul 12, 2012
I'm planning out a new build to replace my current HP AMD Phenom QuadCore 2.2 GHz with an EVGA GTX 460. Here's the details:

I plan on purchasing items around end of August, 2012

My budget is under $1700, obviously, the cheaper, the better. This budget will include all parts for cpu and shipping, no periphials.

I'm building this system for a variety of uses.
1. I am a gamer. Right now I want to run Skyrim maxed out at 1920x1080 and running super smoothly. I may give Witcher 2 a try in the near future.
2. I am a graphic designer for work. I am doing all my work via contract basis with Creative Suite 6 (Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign).
3. I do some work in AutoCAD. From time to time I do contract work for a previous employer designing kitchens, baths, entertainment units, etc. I'm using AutoCAD 2010
4. I am in school for Computer Science. Most of my schoolwork is done online.
5. I run dual monitors. I prefer Samsung ViewSync and will be buying two soon (after I move, see next point) (at least 21").
6. I am limited in size because I am building this in the US, then taking it with me to Abu Dhabi (near Dubai) where I'll be living for two years, so heat may be a factor (obviously, we'll be running A/C, but it is the desert...it gets over 120 deg F)

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($338.98 @ NCIX US)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus 76.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($19.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: Asus Maximus V Gene Micro ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($199.98 @ NCIX US)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($114.99 @ Newegg)
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($109.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Hard Drive: Crucial M4 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($123.99 @ Adorama)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2GB Video Card ($417.49 @ CompUSA)