Cannot, for the life of me, get this mouse to work!

solidsteel

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2009
I have a Logitech G9 that I've been using for the last 3+ years, great mouse, no problems. I just finished a new system and the first mouse I used was a cheapo wireless one made for laptop use so I could navigate the BIOS and whatnot. I then got my main mouse out and plugged it in.

1. It makes a sound when I plug it in and out.
2. The blue sensitivity lights are on.
3. It works when I navigate the MSI BIOS.
4. It doesn't work when I enter log-on screen.

I've already installed SetPoint drivers from the disc, then from the updated version. When I open the software it says no supported devices detected. I've already uninstalled all mouse drivers, rebooted, and plugged it in again.

So now I'm using a 10 year old Logitech Trackball that rolls as smoothly as a snowboard on cobblestone, so I really want to get this G9 up and running.

Yeah... ?

Solution
You could try uninstalling the SetPoint software and deleting any related files.
Then go into device manager, find the mouse, Right Click>Update Driver Software...
See if that'll grab basic mouse drivers.

I read online that some people were having a hardware issue where they banged the mouse on the table
and that seemed to fix the issues. I could see why you would be hesitant to try that, so do it at your own
risk.

solidsteel

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2009
Hmm... doesn't seem to have had any effect. I tried the rear USB 2.0 ports (I think there's only two on mine) and the two 2.0 ports in the front. It does however, still make a sound when plugging in and it still lights up. Just no response.

solidsteel

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2009

Running a clean install of Win 7 Pro x64. I have not tried that, doing so now.

EDIT: Surprise! Nothing -_-

Logitech Drivers or not, shouldn't the mouse at least be recognized and function as a basic mouse?

robozman

Honorable
Nov 17, 2012