Need help on buying a gaming pc.

Approximate Purchase Date: Mid August
Budget Range:$1,200
System Usage from Most to Least Important:Gaming, Web Browsing.
Parts Not Required:?
Preferred Website(s) for Parts:Don't have any I'm new to this.
Parts Preferences:Good video card to run games on maxed graphics.
Overclocking:?
SLI or Crossfire:?
Monitor Resolution:Buying a new one w/ the pc. so I'm not sure.
Additional Comments:I'm not very knowledgeable over computer parts. I'm looking for one that could help me play Runescape, WoW, and Shooters like BF3, COD, on high graphic settings. I've had this HP I got at an office depot for 5 years now. It can't handle most games on high graphics w/o lag. Any help is greatly appreciated.
12 answers Last reply
More about need buying gaming
  1. CASE: Corsair 400R
    CPU: i5 3570K(should overclock to get the most out of it)
    GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7870 (this is the sweet spot for price/performance at the moment)
    RAM: G.skill Ripjaws-X 8GB DDR3-1333(2x4GB)
    MOBO: Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
    PSU: CX-600 (now if you have space in your budget I would get a slightly better psu such as the corsair Tx-650 or 750)

Hope I helped :D

EDIT: should probably get the monitor 1920x1080. also ASUS monitors are the cheapest but some have more than a few problems. make sure if you get an ASUS monitor you search up any problems it might have.
  2. tuganu said:
    CASE: Corsair 400R
    CPU: i5 3570K(should overclock to get the most out of it)
    GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7870 (this is the sweet spot for price/performance at the moment)
    RAM: G.skill Ripjaws-X 8GB DDR3-1333(2x4GB)
    MOBO: Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
    PSU: CX-600 (now if you have space in your budget I would get a slightly better psu such as the corsair Tx-650 or 750)

Hope I helped :D