Are these good gaming computer specs?

tpatkinson12

Honorable
Jul 12, 2012
hi I'm new to making my own computers and i want to make a gaming computer. this is what i think is good (really just guessing here...).
i have roughly a $2000 budget
case- corsair obsidian 650d
processor- intel i7-2600k 3.4ghz LGA 1155 95w quad-core
motherboard- ASRock z68Extreme3 Gen3 ATX Intel Motherboard
PSU- Corsair Professional Series HX750 (CMPSU-750HX) 750W Power Supply
RAM-G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2x4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory
Video card- EVGA 026-P4-2678-KR GeForce GTX 670 FTW 2GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
SSD- OC2 Vertex 3 VTX3-25SAT3-120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive
HDD- Seargate Barracuda XT 2TB 3.5" SATA 6.0GB/s Internal Hard Drive-Bare Drive
DVD ROM- Sony Black SATA DVD ROM Drive Model DDV1681S-0B-OEM
CPU COOLER- Logisys computer IC215PWM 100mm Hydro Theta 15 PWM Intel CPU cooler

haven't decided or even looked into monitors, keyboards, or mice..

of course i will want windows 7 64 bit!

would be a great help if anyone could help me out i just want the best gaming computer i can get for around $2000

Thanks so much if you help out!

-Thomas

JMer806

Honorable
Jun 12, 2012
Although I'm not familiar with that particular CPU cooler, that's a fantastic build. The only thing I would change, though, since your top budget is $2000...

The i7 is way overkill for games. Drop the i7 sandy bridge and get an i5 Ivy Bridge - i5 3570k. Get the same motherboard except in the Z77 version. Price should be about the same or a little less (could be wrong), but your performance will be great, and you'll have an easier time with future upgrades.

tpatkinson12

Honorable
Jul 12, 2012

alright thanks so much! any suggestions for monitor, mouse and keyboard?

JMer806

Honorable
Jun 12, 2012