Should i get a laptop or desktop for gaming?

Laptop or desktop for gaming

• laptop

Votes: 2 8.3%
  • desktop

Votes: 22 91.7%

• Total voters

abduizzle

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2012
I have a choice between getting a desktop or laptop for gaming and i figure that laptops are way less powerful that desktops especially by price/performance wise. i am still a school student and usually go places for summer and winter breaks since desktops are not portable so i cant take it with me when i go places but it is powerful and laptops on the other hand are potable but have way less performance. The games i look forward to playing are battlefield 3 and skyrim for now.

hubbardt

Distinguished
Nov 19, 2004
If you want to be able to play Battlefield 3 and Skyrim then a laptop will struggle badly. I would go for a desktop and you can always pick up a 2nd hand laptop later for Internet and email when you are away from home

Laptops for gaming is a joke. You'd have to spend at least 3 grand on a laptop that would do something a $1000 desktop could do, and probably more than 3000.

You're better off getting a weaker laptop with something like an AMD Trinity (not quite ready yet I don't think) for portability, and build a powerful desktop for home.

If you really want, there are computer towers designed with portability in mind (LAN gamer cases), like this one
http://coolermaster-usa.com/product.php?product_id=2912

captainmoose

Honorable
May 14, 2012
With desktops you can get a lot better performance for less money. A good gaming laptop that will handle the games you want to play will cost you upwards of $1000 dollars. But if portability is really that important too you and you are willing to spend more, than a laptop will be ok. Gaming laptops give some pretty good performance, but if you are looking into laptops then I assume alienware would be your first stop. Try looking around at other brands, youll probably find a much better deal.

JefferyD90

Honorable
Jun 1, 2012