All-Around New Build ~$1800 USD

DBounlom

Honorable
Jun 5, 2012
Hey guys. This will be my second build. I am building it for my friend. I'm open to using any on-line vendor. He is primarily a gamer, but I can see this build being used for all-purpose activities. He wants to spend around ~1800. I know this build seems a little overkill for gaming, but he has 1800 to burn. Even though this is my second build, I am still a huge noob, so any suggestions is greatly appreciated. Here is the build.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/c0GF

Also, I left out a PSU because the one I selected was not on the pcpartpicker list. I picked the Seasonic X750, which seems to be at a good price right now ~$120 with the promo code. Here is the PSU that I picked.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151087

Any suggestions is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

raytseng

Honorable
May 15, 2012
so you're 300 under more or less. Does he want you to spend that extra $300 or would he want the cash?

Hard to understand what the budget requirement are to save money or blow the remaining $300?
The core of your build is fine. Now it's just dohickeys that are relatively cheap, but might be "cool".

Mainly things like switching things to be quiet. And then random case features like having a harddrive port on the top, or fan switches, front hotswappable stuff.
Or random things from the motherboard like built-in onetouch overclocking, wireless features and android/iphone integration with your computer (asus).

If you don't need any of that you are good to go.

I just had a build done by avadirect, which is my first new computer in 10years and I was most impressed by case/mobo "features" bells and whistles that I picked out; compared to the core of the build.
(NZXT H2 Classic +Asus z77-V (no suffix) mobo).

If you MUST spend the $300, then for gaming, then all remaining budget goes towards video card, even if it's diminishing returns.