No fans, no lights, no boot.

Incompetent

Honorable
Jul 14, 2012
Hi, everyone. I apologize if this topic has been stressed over and over again, but I hope some of you professionals can help me out with the situation.

This is my first build and I followed some guides on installation, but no luck. When I turn the power button on I get absolutely nothing. No fans, no lights, nothing. My stand-offs are in, the MOBO is on (green light), the PSU is in, video card, sound card, optical drive, hard drives are in, everything for the most part seems to be connected accordingly. My PSU is the fully modular SeaSonic X650. I feel that I may have possibly connected some of the wires in the back in the wrong spot which is the reason it's not booting.

The components are the following:
Asus Z77 Mobo LGA 1155
EVGA Ge 680x video card
Intel i7 3770 Ivy Bridge 3.5Ghz
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
Crucial M4 256GB

I know it may not be good, but I don't have any system speakers, so I can't tell you what I hear. I was hoping I could diagnose the issue without them. If I'm missing any information please let me know.

I suppose the question I should start with is if any of you could tell me what exactly goes where in the back of the PSU. What I have so far is... in the M/B section, I put the only two cords that can go in, and then connected the 20/24 pin into the only spot it fits on the MOBO. I figure that's got to be right because the green light turns on when those are connected. I connected the CPU cord in the right spot on the MOBO, but maybe it's not in the right spot on the PSU.

Also, assuming my SATA/Peripherals/PCI isn't connected in the right spot on the PSU, the computer would still boot up at the very least, no?

Sorry if this has been a long chain of blabber, but I'm not sure where to begin. I took on this little experiment to get some hands on knowledge and well.. I was expecting to run into trouble.

Thanks ahead of time, guys.

Incompetent

Honorable
Jul 14, 2012