Portable Desktop

valentim16

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2010
I'd like to buy or build a portable desktop! But I'm not sure if it's even possible or the right choice.

The Problem:
I'm a web developer. I'm working on a home built desktop (server specs) running Windows 2008 R2, solid state, 12GB RAM, a few TB of drive space, 23" screen. I have 12 apps running at the same time and running multiple Virtual Machines in the background. Performance is important and it's reasonable on this setup -- probably time to upgrade everything.

Currently I'm chained to the desk. And since it's the 21st century I'd like to be able to travel and have the same experience and performance at my destination.

I've never had a latop that I've liked working on. I think it's because I'm so used to the desktop. My desktop requirements are pretty simple: decent screen, keyboard, mouse. Put me in front of a laptop keyboard, touch pad, little screen and you may as well ask me to strap one hand behind my back. Performance always seems to lag the desktop too and at a premium.

I did a search on Tom's Hardware for portable desktop and nothing came up. I searched Google and there are some interesting links but nothing that just seems to work.

Actually, if I could just stick my desktop in a carry case and walk out the door I think I'd be happy. Except that I'd need a tow truck for this current system.

Solutions and Current Thinking:

(a) Build (or buy) a desktop in the smallest case possible. Find a carry bag that fits the case, monitor (fold out stand), keyboard, mouse. Cons: probably very heavy, probably not really small enough, carry bag will probably need to be custom, padded, etc. and still not as robust as a laptop, or small enough to take on a plane. I can't wait to open it all up at in front of the airport Gestapo. Did somebody say check-it?

(b) Find a laptop that's just brains, screen, and brawn. No keyboard, no touch pad. A big screen. Use an external keyboard/mouse.