College student trying to build first workstation/gamestation

Phallen Phoenix

Honorable
Nov 25, 2012
I am a college student that is trying to build their first workstation desktop after using a laptop that was required by the university for my freshman year. The laptop, although it performs well, is sub par to what i need in terms of graphics, memory, and just power in general.

Let me start by saying I have a 2500 dollar budget. I am looking to set up this computer so that I can run programs like AutoCAD, Autodesk Inventor, Solid Works, and Revit without any hiccups or lag. I usually have trouble with my laptop because the computer's graphics card is...less than optimal. It will lag behind or have trouble running more than one of these programs at once which is starting to be a necessary thing for work and school. I am looking for any advice at all from full builds to just component suggestions because this is the first time I have ventured into this area of expertise.

I am also hoping that this desktop would also serve as a computer to use for gaming as well. So I don't know if that would mean any components would be different again any advice would be nice. I believe having 16 GB of ram, a terabyte HDD, dual monitors, and a higher end graphics card would be best. That way I won't have to clear memory space like I do now on my laptop, and the ram and the graphics card would allow me to run the programs I need to without issue, as well as run games like Battlefield 3 on max graphics settings.

tldr: $2500 budget. I aim aiming for a computer with dual monitors, top notch graphics card, 16 GB of ram, and a 1 TB hard drive. At least I think these would help.

Phallen Phoenix

Honorable
Nov 25, 2012