jlowe22

Honorable
May 22, 2012
Hello all, I'll start by posting my current set up:

MSI KA980g motherboard
AMD Athlon II 260 3.2Ghz cpu
3 GB ddr2 ram
Nvidia Geforce 8400gs 512 MB gfx, pci express x16
Power Supply(Not sure, but i know it won't handle a powerful video card.

Also, my monitor is a Vizio 47 inch full HD TV, but currently im running a regular VGA cable to it

My goal:

To run Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3 at max/nearmax at good framerate. I currently am able to run them both at no less than 40 fps, and no higher than 60fps, albeit on low(ugly) settings.

My question is what video card will get the job done and be compatible with my motherboard? I know its old, and am unsure if it can handle a beastly card. I have been told that any PCI express x16 card will work, but I'm no expert, and I'm not sure if thats true. I know my system is old, but I'd like to upgrade it before i go out and buy a brand new one. I am willing to upgrade my power supply, as I assume it'll be necessary, and also my CPU, as I'm unsure if it will handle much better of a card with bottlenecking it. I'd rather just upgrade the gfx, if possible tho.

Also, if i do have to upgrade cpu, what would be ideal? The manual to my board claims that its compatible with some Phenomx4s, but its very vague on exactly which ones. MSI's website hasn't helped me much in answering my questions either.

If you really care about MAX fps, then a CPU upgrade is in order. Starcraft 2 is a very heavily CPU dependent game, and you need something crazy good to run it on the max it goes.

As for just a graphics card, it would go well with your current setup. You are probably going to have to upgrade the power supply for most cards today.

How much are you looking to spend?

jlowe22

Honorable
May 22, 2012