I'm a newbie. Newly built system freezes at random times when playing

ohmang841

Honorable
Jul 16, 2012
Hi guys, i know there are a lot of threads similar to mine on the forums. I tried to follow some of them, but in all honesty I'm really a newbie when it comes to computers, so please bear that in mind. This is my first build, so I figured I would get the most help by listing my personal specs.

Specs:
- Processor - Intel Core i7 3930K Processor 3.2 Ghz 6 Core LGA 2011
- Mobo - ASRock Intel X79 DDR3 1600 LGA 2011 Motherboards X79 EXTREME6/GB
- Memory - Patriot Memory Viper Xtreme Division 4 Series 16 Quad Channel Kit DDR3 1866 (PC3 15000) 240-Pin SDRAM
- HDDs - Main (SanDisk Extreme SSD 480GB SATA 6.0 Gb-s 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive), Second one (Western Digital VelociRaptor WD1000DHTZ 1TB 10000 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive)
- Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 670 FTW 2048 MB GDDR5
- PSU -Seasonic SS-1050XM ATX 1050 Power Supply
- OS - Windows 7 Ultimate

I have the latest drivers for my video card, mobo and the latest BIOS for my mobo (1.40).
So this is the problem that I have been experiencing. The computer runs great, extremely fast, but for some reason, when I play world of warcraft (only game I've tried so far) the computer freezes up at random times. Mouse laser remains on, keyboard remains on, fans keep spinning; the screen completely freezes and I lose all sound. I've gotten the blue screen only twice afterwards.

From what I've read online on similar problems, most people think is the RAM. So i went into the BIOS and changed the RAM to run at the XMP 1.3 profile, which is 1833 mhz at 9-11-9-27 timings i believe (whatever that means :S). But even then, i still experience the same problem.