Sign in with
Your question

Budget PC for Editing 4k Footage

Last response: in Systems
July 16, 2012 4:00:43 PM

After editing on MAC since 2005, I am switching back to PC based editing. I'm an independent filmmaker and I shot my last feature and short on a Canon 5D, but I'm planning on shooting future projects in 2K or 4k resolution and editing in Premiere CS6 or Lightworks. I don't have a problem waiting on renders - the difference between waiting an hour versus 45 minutes with a better processor/video card isn't worth hundreds of dollars to me. I also realize that I won't be able to edit 4k footage "realtime" without special hardware. As long as I can edit and work with the footage at 1/4 or 1/2 quality, I'll be fine as long as the system allows me to output the final version at full resolution.

Originally I was looking at spending around $3000 to put a system together (including the monitor), but realized that 1.)the more money I save up to put into a computer, the less I will be able to spend on shooting my next film this fall 2.) The next generation of processors is hypothetically coming out in 9 months to a year and 3.)I'm just really ready to not be on MAC anymore (currently have a base imac running Intel core duo 3ghz with 4gb ram and a crappy video card). I think it's a shame to spend 3k on a system right before new processors come out, but at the same time, I will need something to edit on later this year.

My thought was to build a "budget" system for $1400-$1500 (monitor included) and then once the new processors come out, build a more substantial system late next year.

I've been doing a ton of research online the last few weeks, but still have questions on some of the hardware choices. I'm planning on having 16GB ram since it's so cheap, but I'm still indecisive on the processor, video card, and whether or not to have an SSD boot disk - all decisions that could affect my build to the tune of hundreds of dollars.