Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help me wisely spend $2,000

Last response: in Systems
July 16, 2012 4:02:03 PM

I'm a novice builder that is planning a new rig. To give you some idea of me, I'm a mechanical engineer with grey hair; which means I have a much better aptitude for computers than your average Joe but I'm far from a computer engineer. Some guidance and a point in the right direction and I can figure stuff out pretty well. In short, I know just enough to be stupid and dangerous, which is why I'm here.

To give you an idea of what I want to build. My budget is around $2,000. I won't cry if I go a bit over but I don't want to waste money either. The primary usage will be gaming which will probably include some video capture and editing, the usual home/office type stuff, entertainment, and possibly some 3D CAD (Solidworks). So ultimately the system will I expect include
a monitor, a TV,

I'm planning the build around an Intel Core i7-3930K Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz CPU. Since I'm new to building I'm not planning on overclocking right out of the box but I may want to do that further down the line.

First up for discussion is motherboards. I've narrowed my choices to
ASUS Sabertooth X79 at $319
Intel X79SR at $319
Intel X79SI at $259
ASRock X79 Extreme 4 at $224

Below are my naive pros & cons. Please help me decide on the mobo first, then we'll move on to other components. If you want to suggest a different board, feel free to mention it and give me the reasons why - which should be more than "because it's great".

Sabertooth:
Pros:TUF aspect and their attention to heat, Turbo Boost 2.0, Digi+Power, SSD Caching, Firewire, Optical, 5 yr warranty
Cons: NewEgg reviews point to reliability concerns (but it has longest warranty). The max memory speed is also a bit slower but that's minor. I'm a bit leary of whether this board requires more expert builder than I am. Price.

X79SR: