~$1600 build primarily for Photoshop/Lightroom but still want to game

grumblecat

Honorable
Jul 17, 2012
So I've debated building my own computer forever but fear has always stopped me now after a week of pouring over thousands of forum posts and reading so many web posts trying to catch up and know where I am going.

I am an advanced hobbyist photographer and have been as of late doing all my editing on a laptop and it is killing me so it is time to get a new desktop. I will primarily be using it for photoshop/lightroom but I will also like to do some gaming on it though that is secondary. Most of the gaming I will be doing will likely be racing sims but I do know I will get sucked into more once I have a good computer.

All that out of the way I've worked through putting together a first draft based on what I think I have learned so far.

A few decisions I've made. I'm not looking to overclock more worried about stability. I am not planning to run SLI/Crossfire.

Since I have been working on a laptop for the past 18 months or so I am basically needing to start from scratch. I have nothing that I can reuse but I do have a number of external drives that I will need to connect via USB that I am using for storage (not an optimum situation but that will be my next major project to tackle)

Here is the parts list as I currently have it but I still need feedback and help understanding if I am hurting myself with some decisions.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($259.99 @ Microcenter)
Motherboard: ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($97.55 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1333 Memory ($95.99 @ Newegg)
Hard Drive: Hitachi Deskstar 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($89.99 @ Newegg)
Hard Drive: Crucial M4 256GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($189.99 @ Microcenter)
Video Card: MSI Radeon HD 7850 2GB Video Card ($209.99 @ Newegg)