What is the best o.s. for gaming?

G

I'm in a big dilemma... I have a new computer but i can't make my mind on wich o.s. to install. I have the choice betwen 98, ME, 2000 Pro. Wich one is better? I would like to go with 2000 because my server is running 2000 advace server but i'm afraid of the frame rate... Thanks for you advice!

My system:

Athlon 4 1.33G oc @ 1.55G
512M. SDRAM 133 @ 141 Micron CAS 2
MSI K7T Turbo
ATI Radeon 64M. DDR
SoundBlaster Live!
2 X 13G HD @ 54000 RPM
Creative CD-ROM 52X

BunnyStroker

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2001
My advice: Go with 2k. I have been running a 2k pro gaming comp since April of 2000.

Nearly all compatibility issues have been ironed out by now. Moreover, performance (in my experience, at least) is slightly better under 2k.

My system:
Ep0x 8K7A+ mobo
AMD Athlon T-Bird @ 1.4 ghz
Gainward GF3
512 mb Kingston DDR RAM
Philips Seismic Edge sound card.

My games (that I play most frequently)
Counter-Strike
Max Payne
Starcraft

<b>ßunn¥§troker 0wn§ j00!</b>

ejsmith2

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2001
Dual (or Triple) boot.

98/Me/2k.

Me may work on your setup better than 98, but you'll likely get a framerate drop. 2k doesn't like REALLY old games, but does well on the newer ones. Some games will play under win2k until you install sp1 or sp2.......

Yahiko81

Illustrious
Jul 17, 2001
a triple boot would eat up a lot of space. If you game you want to do full installs and that can add up pretty quick. I haven't had any problems with games and win2k and I'm running some old games as well.

:cool: <b>Change the sig of the week!</b> :cool:
Don't fake the funk on a nasty dunk!!

G