Cased vs NO-cased system?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lucasmonta1

Honorable
Nov 15, 2012
Hi everyone I was wondering if there is a way to make an non-cased system (like a tech station) with better air flow than a Thermaltake, CM, etc case......I know that the main idea on a case is the airflow, and that this last one will be interupted on an open system, but, maybe if I have a fan or a set of coolers pointing right to the motherboard (above it, for example) wouldn't it be better?
(let's forget for a moment the other external factors, like eating near to it, the presence or not of pets, and other potential hazards to the system.......I'm just intrested in the thermal efiency of this idea, although you can take into count the dust factor)

I'm really not an expert to the subject and i have really no experience in it, so I thoght of asking here hoping to get some basics on conspts on this topic

Thanks a lot
Lucas
PS: excuse my English, it's not my native language :/

Solution
In terms of thermal efficiency it's no problem in many cases it'll be better than a case. In real life though I wouldn't risk it over a good, protective case ;)

jrayx

Honorable
Jun 9, 2012
The test bench are useful to try different configurations without too much hassle. They're used mostly to do benchmarks of hardware.

Those cases are "temporal", because the first problem is the exposed hardware. In terms of cooling it may be better, but the fans of the GPU and CPU are probably designed to be inside a case.

If you're looking for a test bench, you might like this one: http://www.antec.com/product.php?id=704874&pid=6 or http://www.amazon.com/PC-T60B-Black-Aluminum-Micro-ATX-Computer/dp/B003VIEDOC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354165950&sr=8-1&keywords=test+bench

You could build a test bench or a case, but you'll need a lot of time to do this.

steddora

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012