Gpu for 1440x900 gaming

kifilshah

Honorable
May 25, 2012
Hai friends,
I am planning to build my first gaming PC. Which GPU should i go for if I want to play all 2012 games in highest graphics settings?
i am considering an nvidia GTX 550 ti but is it necessary or would a low end gpu do the job?i have read that at low res, games depend less on GPUs.
I ll be getting an i3-2120 since i cant afford an i5.

PLEASE help me with this as i am really new to PC gaming and very very confused :( :(

kifilshah

Honorable
May 25, 2012
still i would prob try to get the i5 2500k
but it wouldn't future proof your system at all. I wouldn't consider anything under an HD 7770.

thanks guys :)

but i m just lookin at another 12 or 18 months..so i really dont need a future proof system since i ll be getting a gaming lapto after that, i just wanna play all 2012 games in high graphics. do i still need those gpus?

RESOLUTION IS IRRELEVANT

seriously dont know why people think you make a rig around or to support a resolution do you think a game from 10 years ago will will work the same as a modern game at the same given resolution? HELL NO

buy the best card you can afford or save up for a monster card and do it right

gaming laptop? unless your made of money there a joke

teh_gerbil

Honorable
Apr 9, 2012
6870 dude, they're cheap, and will play every/anything at your res with ALLLL the eyecandy!

and an defo an i5, but man an i3 is still pretty damn good, I mean for your res at the moment, an i5 aint gonna make a *** difference, hell unless you use your Pc for video editing, you WILL NOTICE NOTHING between an i5 and an i3!

an i3 will suffice for 'high end' gaming, even at FullHD. Don't let the i5 fanbois make you spend your hard earned cash on something you don't (and won't) need sunshine.

But ***, it's your money, don't let any of us tell you how spend it, just listen and take advice, not instruction.

grumbledook

Distinguished
Dec 24, 2011