Sign in with
Your question

First ever build. Opinions, feedback, and advice wanted.

Tags:
  • Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
July 18, 2012 4:04:02 PM

Hello all,

This will be my first ever "from scratch" build. I'm looking to build a nice gaming PC for around $1,000. I would like it to be able to play recent games (Crysis, Battlefield 3, Skyrim, etc.) on the highest settings. I like to think that I have a fairly good background in technology, but I've never built my own system before, so I'm looking at this not only as an opportunity to build a kick ass system, but as a learning opportunity as well, since I don't really keep up with the latest and greatest in the hardware out there. I've been a laptop guy my entire life, so seeing the amount of options and configurations is just overwhelming to say the least. This also means I don't have the basics like a monitor and case. Anyway, for my build I would like to focus on future upgradability, bang for the buck, and ease. I've tried to do a little research and come up with a build on my own, and would just like some honest opinions, feedback, and advice on how I can make the system better fit my needs. Also, I'm not in a huge rush to get this done (maybe in the next 6 months or so) so let me know if I should hold off a bit longer on the purchase or if it is safe to pull the trigger. Another note: While I would like to keep it within the $1,000 range, my three points of upgradability, bang for the buck, and ease take precedence to price. THANKS in advance.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($229.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($189.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Kingston 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-2400 Memory ($89.99 @ Newegg)
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($119.99 @ Newegg)