Sign in with
Your question
Solved

How Good/Bad is this sub-$200 Build?

Last response: in Systems
July 18, 2012 10:11:41 PM

I'm trying to build my first PC (I'm quite new to building) and am wondering how well the following rig would work. This rig does meet the bare minimum requirements for BF3, though I'm not really sure how well it would play it. This build will sound very ridiculous but I'm trying to establish a base point and work up from there.

- Motherboard: ASRock H61M-DGS LGA 1155 Intel H61 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - $44.99

- Processor: Intel G530 CPU 2.40 GHZ 2M CACHE 2.4 2 LGA 1155 - $43.99

- RAM: PATRIOT DDR3 2GB 1600MHz - $12.99

- Hard Drive - Patriot 32GB Torqx 2 Series Solid State Drive - $39.99

- Video Card - MSI N210-MD512D3H/TC GeForce 210 512MB onboard (TurboCache 1GB) 64-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 - $9.99

- Optical Drive - LG GH24NS90B 24X SATA DVDRW Drive - $17.99

- Case - LOGISYS Computer CS206BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer SOHO Case 480W Power Supply - $26.99

Total: $196.33

The reason I'm using the SSD is because I currently own a 1TB Western Digital External Drive, and don't need anything extra.

I do not need an OS, monitor, or any other peripherals.

The main reason why I want to build this PC is for educational purposes, so I can learn hands-on how to build a PC, before moving on the more expensive builds. I do plan on using this PC mainly for normal day-to-day internet browsing, with some gaming on the side.

Any thoughts/comments/suggests/laughs are welcome.

More about : good bad 200 build

a c 118 B Homebuilt system
July 18, 2012 10:19:35 PM

Badly, and I mean.. really badly. I'd be amazed if BF3 would even load on it. Minimum requirements are minimum for a reason, they're definitely not advisable.
m
l
July 18, 2012 10:34:36 PM

What if I were to upgrade the RAM to 4GBs ($7 extra), and the video card up to PNY VCGGT5201XPB GeForce GT 520 Verto Video Card - 1GB, DDR3 ($34 extra)?

m
l
Related resources