CF HD 7850 on a Rosewill Green 630w PSU?

jordonc

Honorable
Apr 30, 2012
Is it possible (and safe for my components?) to crossfire two HD 7850s on a 630w psu? The AMD website suggests at least 600 watts. This is my first build that I just assembled a week or so ago: i5 3570k overclocked to 4.2, Rosewill Green series 630w psu, GA-Z77X-UD3H mobo, 8GB DDR3 Mushkin 1600, LG dvd/cd combo drive, 3 case fans, a hyper 212 evo w/ stock fan, a Spinpoint F3 1TB HDD, and 6 or so USB accessories. I've read quite a few comments about staying away from any psu not from Seasonic, Corsair, or Antec, but check out this review from hardware secrets on the Green series 630w:
Rosewill Green 630 Watt PSU
My current PSU has 50A on the 12V rail, and 2 available 6-pin PCI express power connectors.
I won't CF any time soon, and I probably won't even buy the first card for a few months. I just wanted some feedback to know if when I get the 2nd 7850, whether or not I'll need a new psu to go with it.

Solution
For a system using two reference clocked Radeon HD 7850 graphics cards in 2-way CrossFireX mode AMD specifies a minimum of an 600 Watt or greater power supply. The power supply should also have a combined +12 Volt continuous current rating of 32 Amps or greater and have at least two 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connectors.

For two factory overclocked cards, like the XFX Radeon HD 7850 Black Edition, I would increase the combined +12 Volt continuous current rating to at least 36 Amps.

The Rosewill Green Series 630W Continuous@40°C (RG630-S12), with its combined +12 Volt continuous current rating of 50 Amps and with one 6-pin and one (6+2)-pin PCI Express supplementary power...

You're overclocking, which the i5 is quite efficient but still for myself I would spring for 750W. The PSU will run most efficient at 50% load, so that's what I base my buying decisions on.