I feel like I'm using dial up... please help

jeepaddict

Distinguished
Sep 10, 2011
I'm new to the forums, I've been looking around anywhere I can but I haven't really found a clear cut answer to what I need to do to speed my internet up. Right now I'm thinking about upgrading my cable modem to boost internet speeds but the one I'm looking at runs like $150. Being a college student I don't want to drop that kind of cash unless I know it will help. Here are my system specs and what I'm running around the house.

My computer: Dell inspiron 1520 w/ Intel core 2 Duo T5250 @ 1.5GHz (I'm not sure what that means.)
Cable Modem: Linksys model BEFCMU10
Wireless router: Linksys model WRT160N
Internet provided by Comcast and I believe we have some sort of speed booster for the home network. (Moved back with the parents to save cash for school so I don't have to take out more loans). Anyways they have a network in the house with the main cable internet jack in the kitchen and then CAT-5 outlets in most of the rooms. We are also using Vonage and I have an Xbox 360 hooked up to the internet wirelessly.

Our internet has never been super fast but it's gotten slower with the addition of the Xbox to the wireless network. I ran an internet speed check through a cable modem website and download speeds were around .4 kb/s with the Xbox on, and just over 1mb with the xbox off. I looked up the specs for that cable modem and it said it was supposed to do around 40 Mb/s. I moved the wireless router down to the basement and plugged it in through the CAT-5 jack and it now sits around 10 feet from the Xbox and it is in the same room and that did very little if anything.

The new cable modem I was looking at is the Cisco Model EPC3212 EuroDOCSIS 3.0 8x4 Cable Modem with Embedded Digital Voice Adapter - 440 Mbps Cable modem - Hi-Speed USB / Gigabit Ethernet (I'm not sure exactly what all that means I just copied and pasted the specs/description)