Sign in with
Your question

First Time builder (Gaming Machine)

Last response: in Systems
July 19, 2012 4:12:26 PM

Hey guys,

So little preface, this is my first time doing a custom build that I will assemble. I am an Apple user through and through for about 6 years now but am not a fanboy and will easily admit to there shortcomings. The biggest one that bothers me is lack of gaming prowess. I have a 2 y/o iMac that is still amazing for everything except games and I decided that I am going to build a windows machine that will be strictly used for gaming and nothing else. My goals for this machine is to keep it under 2k but build a comp for the future. I may need to spend a little more but I will bleed every last game out of this system so it has to be good for as long as possible. Some thoughts on the system before you tear into it. I am very unsure and still need to research a few of the pieces like PSU, Case, Motherboard, and I know I want 16gb memory but am not sure if this is the right product. I don't care about looks at all. I also have no plans to OC as of now. I think the system will be plenty beastly for me but down the road a ways I may want to get the last drop of performance out of it. Therefore I do want room and ability to add another GTX 680 and or beef up my cooling for OCing. Any input at all positive or negative would be appreciative. I am still in the early phases of planning this so feel free to suggest any changes. Also I am very interested in compatibility of these products. I will run windows 7 home basic and push these games through a 2560x1440 resolution screen. Here is the system hope the image works I am not fluent in forums either.

July 19, 2012 5:42:32 PM

Any advice from anyone would be appreciated. I am really not super confident in my choices so I am looking for any and all input.
July 19, 2012 5:52:35 PM