Sign in with
Your question

Looking for help with my first build.

Last response: in Systems
July 19, 2012 10:06:01 PM

I'm completely new to building computers and all of the technical aspects and terms that go along with it, I've managed to get most of my rig picked out but I still need help with finding anything else that I still need to put in my rig so that it works.

A list of what I have picked out for my rig is at the bottom.

Approximate Purchase Date: As I get the money.

Budget Range: Already going to cost ~$2,000, trying to keep it under $2,500.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, video & picture recording & editing, music, etc.

Are you buying a monitor: Looking for one currently.

Parts to Upgrade: Everything since it's a new build.

Do you need to buy OS: Yes, looking at Windows 7 ultimate atm.

Preferred Website for Parts: newegg.com

Parts Preferences: Mid-high end.

Overclocking: Not anytime in the near future.

SLI or Crossfire: SLI once I purchase a 2nd GPU

Your Monitor Resolution: 1280x1024 most likely.

Additional Comments: Recording and editing software mostly, along with numerous games.

Why Are You Upgrading: I need a proper computer and I want to chose my own system so that I have what I need.

Sofar my rig includes:

Intel DX79SI mobo
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...

Intel core i7-3930K CPU

Intel BXRTS2011LC Liquid-cooled Thermal Solution For LGA2011 Socket
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1683...

Ripjaws Z series 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1682...

1x EVGA GeForce GTX 670 FTW 2GB (adding a 2nd at a later date)

CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX750 (CMPSU-750AX) 750W ATX12V 80 PLUS GOLD

Crucial M4 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC SSD (adding a 2nd at a later date)

Western Digital Caviar WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD (adding 1-2 more at a later date)

COOLER MASTER Storm Sniper mid tower case