Please help me link 2 modems via wireless

sir_shanahan

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2011
Hello everyone, I'm very new at networking so please, any help is much appreciated.

The problem: On our property there are two buildings, a house at the top of the hill and a barn at the bottom of the hill. The hill is roughly 30m high and too steep to allow internet access in the barn via the wireless modem in the house. We are also not allowed to drill into the property, so ethernet is out of the question.

Desired solution: Use an old modem to connect to the modem in the house and allow internet access to the barn. (from what I understand this is called a wireless bridge or repeater, but I have no idea how to hook such a network up)

What I have: the wireless network in the house is provided by BT and has dual networks delivered by a "BT 2700 HGV" modem. I also have a D-Link "DSL-2640R" spare and 100m of Cat5 cable.

As I mentioned, I am unable to penetrate the house so I need a way to connect the D-link modem to the BT modem wirelessly. The ethernet cable can then run to the barn if that makes things any easier.

Both modems support bridge modes but I have not idea how to set it up, or even if my terminology is correct. If not then please offer corrections or alternative solutions as this is becoming a real problem. Thanks very much for your time.

the bridge mode on those two modem/routers are to bridge the modem to the network ports; therefore, disable the router and making it work as a modem only. It will not help you to set the router into bridge mode.

you will have to get a new N-router that can support DD-WRT firmware. like a ASUS RT-N12, RT-N16, Linksys E2000, E3000, D-Link 825, or Netgear 3500, 3700

here is a website that will help you find one that can be converted. just enter the model number of a router that you would like to buy