Sign in with
Your question

New to Custom Builds

Last response: in Systems
July 21, 2012 4:03:28 AM

I recently purchased parts to build a custom build. I have never built a desktop computer before, but I know where everything goes and how to put it together.

Even though I want to be able to play games on high quality settings, I didn't invest any money on a cooler, so overclocking won't be an option until I can save up for the Corsair H100.

The components I purchased are as follows:

Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2 x 4GB
Storage: Crucial m4 SDD 128GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX 560Ti
Power: OCZ ZS Series 850W
Chassis: Corsair Carbide 400R

Are there any tweaks that I could pull off without a cooler. For example, is it possible to do a small amount of overclocking? Also, are there are additional parts that I should invest in such as sound card, wireless card, extra hard drive, etc...?

Any tips for a beginner I would appreciate.

More about : custom builds

July 21, 2012 4:40:29 AM

Your rig is fairly unbalanced. You'v got an expensive motherboard, overkill PSU and a low end GPU. The biggest performance increase you can get is a better GPU. If possible, see if you can refund the 560Ti back and get a HD7850, on Newegg at least they are around same price.

A Corsair H100 wont increase performance and you can get similar cooling for a lot less. A Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO is all you should need unless you want big overclocks or overly care about how it looks.

You could do very mild overclocks on the stock heatsink, but I wouldn't trust it. Maybe up to 3.7Ghz is as far as I'd take it on stock. Definetly overclock the graphics card though.