Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Help Decided a graphics card compatible with my pc

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 28, 2012 11:31:43 AM

Hello Everyone

Im looking for some advice on a new graphics card!

Ive had such a hard time with graphics cards at the moment.
Im trying to find a graphics card that will work with my pc well as i just bought a ASUS GeForce GTX550 Ti and everything on my pc as much as the visuals are improved the, frame rate has dropped compared to my old graphics card so ive returned it! as im a 3D artist and 3ds max would barely run due to the frame rate!

I just need some professional advice on what to do really.

My PC Specs are:

HP Pavilion P6109 uk -
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01...

8gb Memory DDR3 (Upgraded from 4gb)
512mb NVIDIA GeForce G 210
500W PSU (upgraded from 300W)
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz
Motherboard: IPIEL-LA3 (Eureka3)

I just really need help pin pointing a specific graphics card. preferably around £100 - £150 range.

Thankyou for any advice i really appreciate it!
a c 291 U Graphics card
May 28, 2012 11:33:32 AM

Did you reinstall drivers when you installed the new card? Either that, or that card was faulty. The performance shouldn't have dropped, as GTX 550 Ti is 10 times faster than GT 210.
Also, a few questions:

1. Do you play games?
2. Do you need CUDA?
Score
May 28, 2012 11:39:06 AM

Thanks for the reply so quickly!

I did reinstall the drivers yes, and they are up to date. I also made sure all the drivers for my bios and board and stuff were up to date too!
I wondered if it was faulty, but the person on overclockers uk (where i bought the graphics card) said that its my machines fault when i told him the specs of it.