Sign in with
Your question

Overclock amd athlon 64 x2 3800???

Last response: in Systems
July 21, 2012 7:27:47 PM

Hey I dug out my old desktop pc and was wanting to screw around with it and try making it faster. Read a bit about overclocking and was wondering what everyone thought.

Here is the Rigs Specs:

Amd Athlon 64 X2 3800 2.0ghz 2x 512 L2 cache 2000 mhz system bus
nvidia geforce 6100 (has pci express slot)
250 gig HD been swiped back to factory
1 gig DDR dual channel Ram

Any help would be great. Like I said I'm new to this tpe of stuff so a good guide on overclocking would be great.
July 21, 2012 8:52:02 PM

Best thing to do is do a clean install of Windows. If you can do a install of Windows 7, it will help bring the dual core out... If you wanted to overclock it, 2.4 on air and 2.6 liquid is going to be your limits, but I dont see any reason to, it should be able to do any of your normal everyday task.
m
l
July 21, 2012 11:36:56 PM

I don't have windows 7 but I installed XP on it. would 2.4 be worth overclocking it or better just leaving it stock?
m
l
Related resources
July 21, 2012 11:51:26 PM

Not really worth overclocking. Windows 7 makes MUCH better use of dual cores, if your not using XP Pro then your not using 2 cores anyways. XP was not made with dual cores in mind, it was actually via a patch that dual cores even operate. If you do not have a copy of Windows 7 download the RC of Windows 8, http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/release-pr... Then when it comes out this October, buy it. I would add a total of 4 GB of RAM and a small video card like a AMD 6450, and That is about as much as I would spend on this system. Anything else and you might as well start a whole new build.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite... x4 59.96

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite... 41.99

Total $101.95
m
l
July 22, 2012 3:37:44 AM