Need your advice on CPU, Motherboard upgrade!!

ConvertedAnt

Honorable
Dec 3, 2012
I am fairly new to building computers and need some expert advise so have come here on the recommedation of a close friend.
I am looking to upgrade my motherboard cpu and ram in the new year but i have a limited budget (around £200 not including ram).
I have looked at loads of different options but have got myself very confused. I am looking to make a decent gaming rig.
Any advise is greatly appriciated, but unfortunatly the budget is not very flexible due to having a young family.
Many Thanks in advance.
Ant

socialfox

Distinguished

ConvertedAnt

Honorable
Dec 3, 2012
Thanks for the quick responce.
I already have a Nvidia GTX 550 Ti in my current setup which i will continue to use for the time being. I know its not the best but suites my needs for now.
Are micro ATX motherboards ok for gaming because i have been told they overheat quite easily.
I am sorry for sounding a bit thick but i am new to this.
Ant

socialfox

Distinguished
Never heard of micro-atx boards overheating during gaming sessions. I myself run an Asus M5A78L-M LX Plus and it never goes beyond 35 degrees when gaming for hours. That being said I have heard full sized ATX boards are better for overclocking, but the i3 3220 can't be overclocked. If you prefer ATX boards just let me know, I can find one around the same price.

ConvertedAnt

Honorable
Dec 3, 2012
Thanks again for taking the time to answer.
I have a full atx at the moment and i have had no trouble with temps.
When i get home (at work at the mo) i will post my current setup as there may be an easier solution to boost my current setup.
Ant

ConvertedAnt

Honorable
Dec 3, 2012
I have been looking at AMD already. I have and AMD build at the moment but i cant recall the details at present.
I have had no problems with my AMD stuff.
The motherboard you suggested is one i had bookmarked so is a likely purchase.