Sign in with
Your question
Solved

$4.000 Build for 3d Modeling and Rendering (ADVICE NEEDED)

Last response: in Systems
July 22, 2012 8:45:26 PM

Hi, I'm a newcomer to building computers from Brazil. I have a budget of 4000 dollars to build a machine for 3d modeling and rendering. It can be PC or Mac, i'm just looking for the best price/benefit.

Approximate Purchase Date: next 2 weeks

Budget Range: $4000 or less (if a machine cheaper than this can do the job it will be awesome!)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: 3d modeling and rendering. Main programs are Rhinoceros, cinema 4d and CS5.

Are you buying a monitor: Probably going to buy locally. No need to include on the build. But suggestions are welcomed.

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: i have no experience, so no preferences, hehe

Parts Preferences: no

Overclocking: Preferably not, only if i get much more performance out of it

SLI or Crossfire: From what i read SLI will help in rendering fast, but i don't know what will be better. Advices would be welcome.

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080 suggestion are welcome

Additional Comments: There will be no gaming in this computer, just modeling, rendering and CS5 besides usual needs like browsing the internet.

Thanks in advance for the patience to deal with someone who knows as little as possible about this.

Best solution

July 26, 2012 7:43:20 AM

I'm not gonna lie, I've honestly dreaded having to give you build advice, lol. Not because I dislike you or anything, but because I'm ignorant of modeling programs and such. I'm gonna go out on a limb here and give you some advice anyways considering no one else has bothered to do so.

Here goes nothing...
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/d2Dy

The CPU is the 2nd most powerful CPU available to consumers. The 3960x price just doesn't justify the small performance gains.

The SLI gtx 680s will help with performance scaling and cuda cores in rendering and what not.