Rosewill Challenger Power Button

mkcsit

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2012
Hello,

I just built a new system with the following components.

Rosewill Challenger ATX Mid Tower Case
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
Intel Core i7 3770 3.4GHz LGA 1155 Processor
SanDisk Extreme SDSSDX-120G-G25 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal SSD
Caviar Black 1TB 7,200 RPM HD
ZT-50709-10M NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 2048MB GDDR5 PCIe 2.0 x16 Video Card
GA-Z77X-UD3H LGA 1155 Z77 ATX Intel Motherboard

Everything works great except for one thing....the only way I can power it on is by using the motherboards power button. This is my first build and I tried to make sure I followed the instructions very carefully. The power light comes on and the reset button works. All front ports work. I'm wondering if anyone else has run into a similar problem and would like some suggestions for troubleshooting.

Thank You

G

it is the button being flonky. it doesn't matter which way you plugged it in; all the button does is make a connecting for the power when it is pressed in; same as using a screwdriver to "short" the two power pins.

keep pressing the button several times and see if it eventually works, if not . . .return the case?

mkcsit

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2012

Is there a way to test signal through the cable? What about to the pins on the board? I'm afraid of frying the board by trying that without knowing exactly what to do though. I double checked everything and definitely have everything plugged into the correct pins according to the manual. I'd just hate to take it apart again without knowing for sure. I want to see if there's a way to determine if the issue is the board or the case. If not I'll see about returning the case. Thanks for the help.

mkcsit

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2012