Sign in with
Your question

Question about Powerline

Last response: in Networking
July 26, 2011 10:06:49 AM

Hello guys,
I have heard of powerline system since several years ago but never ever had such implementation at home before.
Last week I have moved to a new place/house and I have problems with the WLAN signal strength inside the new house.
I have an idea to solve this problem by using powerline networking.

Since I am new to powerline, I want to ask something first.
Is the example configuration below possible?
Modem -----> (Devolo dLAN200) ---> electrical line first floor----> electrical line second floor---->(Devolo dLAN200) ---> normal D-Link DI-524 WLAN router (already available) ---> PCs
and also on the first floor
electrical line first floor but further away ----> (Devolo dLAN200) ---> another normal D-Link DI-524 WLAN router (again, already available).

In short, is it possible to connect the other end of the powerline to another router?

Thank you very much for your time and answer in advance.

Info (old configuration):
Modem -----> 50m networking cable ---> normal D-Link DI-524 WLAN router (already available) ---> PCs
100m networking cable from the first router ---> another normal D-Link DI-524 WLAN router

More about : question powerline

July 26, 2011 3:23:59 PM

the problem with your new layout is that your modem will only give you one IP; therefore, one of the routers will not work.

how about this layout for your current devices:

Modem -----> normal D-Link DI-524 WLAN router (already available) ---> (Devolo dLAN200) ---> electrical line first floor----> electrical line second floor---->(Devolo dLAN200) ---> normal D-Link DI-524 WLAN router (already available) setup as a AP (Access Point) ---> PCs

just one thing you should be aware of is that the Powerline adapters will not deliver the advertised speed especially over two floors since they use separate electrical circuits.

200Mb might give you around 20Mb
500Mb might give you around 35Mb