Your question

First build, need advice

Tags:
  • Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
July 23, 2012 4:07:12 PM

Hi i am ordering a a computer componentes to build a new system i have never done this before so i will need some help. First, are the parts that i've chosen appropriate?

MOBO: Asus P8Z77-V
CPU: Intel Core i7 3770k
GPU: Gigabyte GTX 670 Windforce x3
RAM: Corsair 8gb low profile, 1600Mhz, 9-9-9-24
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 2tb ,SATA 6Gbps, 7200rpm (probably a SSD in future)
PSU: Corsair TX750 V2
CPU HS: Thermaltake Macho HR-02
CASE: Bitfenix Shinobi
An ordinary optical drive and the LG's E2351-VR 23" monitor

I will be using the pc mainly for Microsoft's Visual Studio 2010 and probably for gaming and 3ds max rendering. I would also want to overclock the CPU up to 4.5Ghz per core. Should i buy an extra fan for the case as it has only one 120mm one at the rear? While building the system should i wear an antistatic wristband or gloves as i really don't want to fry the parts? I'am open for any suggestions and advices.

More about : build advice

July 23, 2012 4:43:02 PM

if you want to overclock your machine, its best to take precaution. Give your pc case the most optimum air flow you can give. Cool your cpu with a liquid cooler with that kind of frequency. other than that Everything looks fine.
July 23, 2012 4:50:16 PM

lookerup said:
if you want to overclock your machine, its best to take precaution. Give your pc case the most optimum air flow you can give. Cool your cpu with a liquid cooler with that kind of frequency. other than that Everything looks fine.

Why would you get a liquid cooler? Go with a D14. Either do a real liquid loop or don't do one at all. Plastic loops aren't worth it because a strong air fan like the D14 will give you the exact same overclocking results and it's far safer.

That Asus board won't support 3-way SLI, you'll need something like the EVGA Z77 FTW: http://www.evga.com/products/moreInfo.asp?pn=151-IB-E69...