Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

First build (Budget 2195 -2469$) Need help choosing parts.

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
July 23, 2012 5:51:19 PM

Hello everyone!

This is my first attempt at building my own gaming system. One would assume that building your own computer should be very exciting and fun. But for me, the more I read into things, the more questions pop up. More confusion means more misery for me. Sometimes it feels like the old saying "should I get married or not, regardless of what I choose I will regret it".
I always had friends help me pick out and build hardware. This time I do it on my own so I do apologize for my ignorance..
Any constructive feedback is deeply welcome!

Approximate Purchase Date: Near future

Budget Range: 16000-18000 SEK (2195-2469 USD, rough estimate)

System Usage: Silent gaming computer that can play games extremely well on a single monitor at (1920x1200 alt 1920x1080). Other software usage: Photoshop, Illustrator, Flash

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU:
i7 2600K

Observation:
Heard bad things about Ivy bridge and overheating so I decided to go Sandy bridge.

Question:
Since my primary goal is gaming why then the 2600k over the 2500k? Will the extra threading help when using other software in conjunction, like fraps or some internet streaming software?
Never did any overclocking before but want to overclock it to (4.5) if possible, is it hard? Will the 2600k overclock as well as 2500k?
If I went for Ivy, then my choice would be 3770k (not that far apart in price from 2600k)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU cooler:
Noctua NH-D14
Cooler Master V8
Phanteks PH-TC14PE

Observation: