Eyefinity set up?

SkyDragon8

Honorable
Feb 21, 2012
Hi All,

First let me start with my current build.

MB: Asus P8Z68-V LX
CPU: i5 2500k
Cooler: Hyper 212+
PSU: Cooler Master Elite 430
Mem: 16GB DDR3

Currently using the dual video output on mobo. A DVI and D-Sub. Everything is set defult, so no overclocking YET. :lol:

I want to set up Eyefinity with 3 monitors. All different brands, all 20", but the inputs are 2 have DVI, and one have D-Sub only.

Now, my knownledge of PC's is a beginner builder, but as to Graghics, I'm a total newbie.. I know enough to be a danger to my PC, which is not good.

In the above set up, can I just add another graphics card that has a DVI onto my mobo, and continue to use the onboard vdieo to get the 3 monitor Eyefinity set up or do I need to buy a graphic's card that supports the Eyefinity set up?? If I have to buy one, I'm thinkg of the Sapphire Flex HD 6450 which has all the adaptors that i would need and my PSU would support it.

This set up will be use for watching youtube, suffing the net, and worksheets at the same time. So, I do not need super v-cards.

I would prefer to spend $10 rather $60 if you know what I mean. :D

AdioKIP

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2008
It depends on what your goal is. If you just want to use 3 monitors independently than you can add in pretty much any graphics card and still use your onboard. If you want actual EyeFinity for gaming where the 3 monitors act as one screen than all 3 monitors must be connected to the same video card so you wont be able to use your onboard. In this case you'd need a card that supports EyeFinity. The Sapphire Flex would meet your needs, or any other ATI card combined with an active displayport adapter, and a vga to dvi for your setup.

randomkid

Distinguished

The 6450 will do. I am a sapphire flex user myself. Because you have 2 DVI monitors & 1 VGA monitor, your setup will be like this:

DVI Monitor 1. DVI -> DVI ( direct connection via DVI cable )