I7-2600 hitting very high temps

Status
Not open for further replies.

koush22

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2011
Hey,

I recently noticed my i7 2600 (stock cooler/speed), which I have been using for 10 months now, idles (15% load) at 45-48 degrees.

I tried some Prime 95 tests, and after about 1 minute of 100% load on all the cores the temperature hit 95 Degrees and I stopped it.

Luckily, I don't do any cpu intensive work on a daily basis, and I rarely play games, so I'm not too worried about the cpu having been damaged in the past 10 months due to heat.

However, I am kinda hoping to fix these temperatures.

Modular power supply, so cable management is decent. My case http://www.antec.com/product.php?id=2121&pid=2, I got the 2 140mm outtake fans at the top, and one 120mm intake on the side.

Any suggestions?

I'm thinking maybe the cpu fan is slightly loose or something. how could I verify?

Solution
45-48 Degrees on an i7 2600 is not bad but hitting 95 on full load is not good.

I do believe you did not apply enough Thermal Paste initially and there is not much left between the Heat Sink and CPU now.

Best thing to do is take the opportunity to buy a can of compressed air, clean any dirt from the Case, Case Fans, Heat Sink fan and Power Supply Fan.

Secondly, check all fans to make sure they all work, then buy and apply some quality Thermal Paste. I will suggest Shin-Etsu X-23-7762.

I don't think there is anything wrong with your CPU, just a bit of a good clean and reapplication of good Thermal past and you'll be amazed the new temps.

Post back and let us know how it goes.

koush22

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2011

It's not overclocked at all though.... That's why I was confused as to why the stock heat sink isn't holding up..

koush22

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2011

installed it myself. How can I verify? Just open it up and try to move it around or what?

Jimmyrigs81

Honorable
Dec 5, 2012