MSI K9A2 Platinum and Phenom II x4 965 BE, 1.416 V help

Saiph

Honorable
Dec 6, 2012
Hi, today i purchased a new CP, upgrade from my old Athlon x2 4800+ (2.5 GHz) to a Phenom II x4 965BE.

My Mobo is MSI K9A2 Platinum with the latest BIOS Update.

My main concern is the Voltage usage of my CPU, i read a lot about the fact that Phenom II x4 965BE tends to have rather "bad" stock Voltage usage.

I have some ideea about how to change that, i am not a newbie in hardware but i want to make sure if that is ok, or exactly what are the steps to downgrade my Voltage on this CPU, is it safe?

What should i expect doing that?

The temp my CPU is running right now in Idle with Stock Cooler is a bit high or i think its high, since on the AMD site it is stated that my MAX CPU Temp should be 55-62°C:

http://savedonthe.net/image/1622/CPU-Temp.jpg

I used SpeedFan also and it showed me "45°C".

What would you guys recommend?

The current Voltage usage of my CPU is 1.416V :

http://savedonthe.net/image/1623/CPU-Voltage.jpg

Also, i am thinking to buy a new GPU, since my 8800GTS 512 has some troubles running some games on my 1920x1080 resolution. (But it still does her job, 30+ FPS in Skyrim with High/Medium Settings).

I am thinking between Sapphire Radeon HD7770 GHz Edition Vapor-X OC 1GB DDR5 128-bit (If i buy this card i am thinking to run a CrossFire, purchasing the second card in February/March) or Asus GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1GB DDR5 128-bit If i buy this card i am not planing any upgrade to SLI in the near future.

I run games at 1920x1080, i am playing mostly RPG games, Witcher 2, Skyrim and things like that, i rarely play shooters. I am not rly a fanatic about Extreme Graphics, but i also wanna run games at High Quality at least.

Don't recommend me sites from US since i am from EU (Romania), and some things are extremely expensive here. :D

Scott_D_Bowen

Honorable
Nov 28, 2012
since on the AMD site it is stated that my MAX CPU Temp should be 55-62°C: