Sign in with
Your question

Rendering with 6 GTX 580 cards

Last response: in Systems
July 25, 2012 12:23:54 PM

Hello,

Wanted to do a new rig from the ground up that supports 6 gtx 580 cards (this is key since this will be dedicated to gpu rendering). What would be the best setup in terms of motherboard and psu? Any overall setup for this configuration suggested? I'm a total newbie and any help would be highly appreciated!
July 25, 2012 12:36:00 PM

This topic has been moved from the section Overclocking to section Systems by Pyree
m
l
July 25, 2012 12:51:31 PM

I dont think its even possible to get more than 4 cards in Crossfire/SLI, and I doubt you could find a consumer grade motherboard with six 16x PCI-E3 slots on it. Closest I can think of is two separate PC's linked over a network, both working on the job.

I think you would get more rendering performance from a $1500 CPU than you would from 6 mainstream graphics cards. If your willing to spend that much money, I would look into Quadro cards as their dedicated to rendering.

As for PSU requirements, it would be well above whatever consumer grade stuff you could get. Maybe if you got two 800W supply's and connected one to the mobo and 2 cards, and the other to the left over cards, then somehow rigged the 2nd PSU to turn on with the first. At that power draw, you better check how much you can actually draw from the wall, as 1600W would probably trip a circuit breaker so you'l have to do something about that.

m
l
Related resources
July 25, 2012 12:56:13 PM

SLI only does up to 4 GPUs, so kindly send your spares for me to use :D 

seriously though, rendering software typically will only use 1 GPU, with the possibility of using a 2nd GPU. If you really think you need the horsepower of 6 GPUs then you need to sell them all off and invest in a high quality Quadro or FirePro GPU with will bring much better performance, 10bit color, and error correction while requiring much less power and producing much less noise.