PC runs, then the monitor turns off but the PC is still running

drewnicki2

Honorable
Dec 6, 2012
Hi,

Sorry i'm not too technical but i know a fair bit so i'll try explain as best as i can... (Can't remember all of my PC specs, kinda old)

NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 260
Intel Core2 Duo E8400 @ 3.00GHz
OCZ 2 x 2GB Ram DDR2 Fatal1ty Edition
MSI P7N Series (Platinum i think)
Cooler Master Silent Pro 1000W (Replacement after last power supply killed itself)
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Antec 1200

Oh, skip to "What I Know So Far" bit if you want to skip the story of how my PC went from fine to broken...

The Problem:
My problem is that my computer boots up fine and does everything as it should. After so long, (depending on how many programs i decide to open up on startup) the monitor turns off. I have used itunes a couple of times while it has done this and the sound does a loud distorted sound then i turn off the computer by having to hold the power button.

The Story:
My computer used to work fine until one day my friend decided he wanted to try his CPU out in my computer, so i let him and it worked fine. We then reassembled my computer and the computer worked but after about maybe 8 hours of it running it started having the problem that i originally stated. Around this time it was time to go to bed, so i went to bed. Next morning turn it on, it works fine for about 3 hours then has the original problem again and every time from then on, it seemed to shorten the time. Since i blamed it on my friend for messing with my PC, he decided to try and fix it so we cleaned out the PC of all its dust, cleaning each and every fan and all the components. This didn't help much. So then i did some googling.

What I Know So Far: