Sign in with
Your question

Will an FX-6300 Bottleneck a GTX 650 Ti?

Last response: in CPUs
December 6, 2012 9:37:57 PM

Hello,

I'm very new to computer gaming, but have developed a pretty strong WoW addiction. My current system won't run Mists worth a flip and I'm currently on a site where I can build my own system. I've been reading up on various setups and I've managed to finagle one into my price range with an FX-6300 (not overclocked) with a Nvidia GTX 650 Ti video card. I'm not sure if the CPU will bottleneck it though, or if I should opt for at least a 10% overclock just to make sure.

The only game I'll really be playing is WoW and maybe some D3 or Assassin's Creed 3 down the road, but mostly just WoW for now.

I need to get at least medium-high settings. I'm not an FPS buff because I'm used to getting about 15 fps out of the game since my current system is so horrbile (Macbook...go figure). So it's not going to take very much to impress me.

I just want to make sure I won't get bottlenecked and have spent the extra money on a better GPU for nothing. Thanks in advance :) 
a b à CPUs
December 6, 2012 10:16:07 PM

That CPU will never bottle neck that 650 Ti. I would still recommend getting either a phenom II x4 965, or spending the extra money on a FX 8350. A 965 would be enough for wow and D3, and wouldn't ever bottle neck any card in that tier. I've never played Assassin's creed on PC so I can't speak for that.
Normally I'd recommend you buy a 7850 instead assuming space and power isn't an issue, but since blizzard's games like Nvidia so much better, the 650 Ti would be a better way to go. It's a good little card any time.
m
l
December 6, 2012 11:37:38 PM

Thanks for reply, Mace. I've been getting kind of mixed reviews of the FX-6300...The minute I mention it everybody just jumps on me to buy an intel i5 instead so i can't really get an accurate reading of whether or not it's any good.