Sign in with
Your question

Accepting Suggestions For My First Gaming PC Build (Intel Z77 ATX)

Last response: in Systems
July 25, 2012 7:59:48 PM

Ok, this is my first attempt at building a PC and Ive been trying to get informed on a lot of things but the components have me stumped; mainly which motherboard, memory, and power supply to select. Here is where I stand currently and if you find something better for my build please suggest it :) 

This PC is going to be used primarily for heavy gaming(GW2 and upcoming games)... it will be on pretty much all day and I am looking to build a future proof computer to last, I plan on keeping it 5yrs+ (I have already bought a CM full tower case if that matters).

Im currently looking at CPU: i7-3770k (which I don't intend to overclock) + corsair h100 water cooling
an nvidia geforce gtx 680 (possibly the gigabyte one as I heard it was good)
hard drive: ssd either adata sx900 or hyper x 240gb or so because I heard they are both fast and stable

memory: dependent on motherboard really but either mushkin redline or corsair because I heard both were good? please suggest others if they are better/faster?

Now for the motherboards I was looking at LGA 1155 ATX either the gigabyte z77x-ud3h/ud5h or Asus p8z77-v-?
I also heard msi and asrocks were good as well? These were all recommendations or notes I took from online reviews, and once I select one then ill get the power supply and add a single dvd optical drive.