• New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
July 26, 2012 12:57:40 AM

Approximate Purchase Date:
Today, or once the system has been chosen

Budget Range:
<$1,000 without OS (I'm a student and can get it for ~$50.00), mouse, or keyboard

System Usage from Most to Least Important:
General web surfing, ability to run dual monitors, some Photoshop CS6 (I'm a website developer, but I'm currently getting into editing photos and digital art so I need something that won't get bogged down with huge, multi layer files during rendering and filters), and some games. I enjoy playing Civilization V and SC2, though I don't need them to be on ultra or anything.

Are you buying a monitor:
Yes

Do you need to buy OS:
No

Preferred Website(s) for Parts:
Newegg, though I have a build list using their site.

Middle Tennesse. Any store in Nashville to Knoxville is within driving distance.

Parts Preferences:
Intel, preferably. (I've had some issue with others, so I am more comfortable with Intel)

Overclocking:
Maybe. The motherboard and CPU that I have chosen are both able to be OC'd, but I am not sure that I want to do that.

SLI:
Yes. In the future I would like to, but not right now.

Your Monitor Resolution:
1920x1080 preferred.

Additional Comments:
While the CPU and Motherboard are both the Ivy Bridge (thus fairly new) and the other items are a little on the older side, I have done this, I hope I got it right, in an attempt to get something fairly inexpensively now, but that will also:
a. Operate under the tasks I throw at it; and
b. Allow for upgrading in the future, on a much cheaper method.

What I have so far:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($189.99 @ Microcenter)
Motherboard: ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($97.55 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($45.99 @ Newegg)