Sign in with
Your question

VPN solution for customer machines

Last response: in Networking
July 29, 2011 3:49:04 PM

Hi guys,

I work for a small company that supports some customer machines. Currently to connect to these machines we use modem lines connected to a service laptop which is in the machine, which can be extremely slow. The service laptops also have regular network connections so I figured couldn't we be using some sort of VPN software to securely connect to these machines? This way we are not restricted to the unreliable and slow modem lines.

What kind of software suite could we use to do this? We want to avoid having to buy hardware to install at each customer because of cost, but if there is no other way I would appreciate if someone could explain it in detail how we would need to implement it.

As a lowly tech I just want to try and make our group's job easier.

Thanks all!
July 29, 2011 5:53:27 PM

I went through this same problem about 7 months ago. What we ended up doing was going with a hardware based VPN solution. We have come to dislike VPN's for its lack of speed and its lack of integrity when compared to dedicated lines (MPLS, T1, T3, etc.), but when comparing the costs of all the network solutions, a VPN simply cannot be beat from a small business standpoint.

When we started going through devices to see what we wer going to use, we started with Netgear Prosafe vpn firewall. This is a buisiness class series from Netgear and we fell in love with the FVS338. This only has 10/100 ports on the built in switch (but it has a 75Mbps full duplex Wan port which made this perfect) but that does not matter as though we are using Gb switches behind the router itself.