Sign in with
Your question

New Build Issue! Help!

Last response: in Systems
July 27, 2012 6:47:48 AM

Yes, I read the entire post of "read it before posting" Tried everything I saw in there that I could relate my system to. This isn't my first rodeo, but i'm also no pro. Here is what I've got (I know it's a mismatch of parts, it was a budget build and got good deals on most of the parts):

G.SKILL RIPJAWS Gaming Series 8GB DDR3 - 1333MHz PC310666 (2 x 4GB)
Logisys CS51W Case with Logisys 480 watt PSU
i7-2600K Processor
ASUS P8Z68-V LX Motherboard
Sapphire Technology AMD Radeon HD 6450 Video Card
Cooler Master Vortex Plus HSF
WD 320GB HD

Here's the story, I hope I nail everything. Built the computer in the case first, like a noob. Needless to say it didn't work. Now, all the lights turned on and fans spun up, for about 1/2 a second. It then shuts down until I unplug the PSU and upon replugging, it will do it again. I say unplug because the PSU doesn't have a switch. I then stumbled upon this website, you all seem like a bunch of rockstar computer genius geeks, so I thought I'd say hi and try to get some help. First things first, double and triple checked all components were seated and plugged in correctly. Second, I decided to go breadboard style, pulled everything, using only the MOBO, HSF, PSU, CPU only, same thing happened. Reseated the HSF, same thing. Checked the configure with a jumper hooked to a case fan, it spun and lit. Pulled out my voltmeter, everything checked perfect. Tried it with a second PSU known good, same thing happened. I then ruled out the PSU as the issue. Pulled CPU and HSF and cleaned with 100% acetone. Put it back together, same thing. Tested the CPU in another computer, booted perfectly. motherboard was brand new sealed. What the heck could this be? What should I try next? I can check components, from there, I'm lost. Pointers would be great!

More about : build issue

Anonymous
July 27, 2012 8:23:31 AM