[New Build]~$1500 Gaming Desktop

MR_AWESOME55

Honorable
Mar 24, 2012
So I recently decided to build my first PC, and this is what I have so far. As I am very new to the whole process, I am still trying to learn what to look for because it just seems like there are a lot of different options. It's been hard to choose, but this is it so far:

Approximate Purchase Date: Mid - Late August

Budget Range: $1300 - $1500 after shipping and rebates (could go a bit over this though)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, torrenting, CAD

Are you buying a monitor: Yes

Parts to Upgrade: All (starting from scratch)

Do you need to buy OS: No

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: memoryexpress.com (have a discount), newegg.ca, ncix.ca

Parts Preferences:

CASE: Coolermaster HAF XM
I was looking for a mid tower case with less, bigger fans rather than more, smaller fans. This one seemed to do the trick, and I would also consider getting more 200mm fans for it

CPU: Intel Core i5 3570K Unlocked Quad Core Processor
I do not believe that I am going to need an i7 for much; I think the i5 should be able to handle most of my applications well. I do not plan on doing much heavy video editing, but I would like to run CAD programs at some point. Would this CPU give me any issues with that?

Also, I may or may not overclock in the future, but I figured I'd get the unlocked one just in case. I'm going with ivy bridge mainly because it's the newest and most powerful

GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
My friend recommended this GPU to me, and he was making a similar build to mine

MOTHERBOARD: ASRock Z77 EXTREME4 ATX
Looked up what motherboards would work well with the i5 and the above GPU, and found this. Supposedly, it is "Tom's Hardware Approved" according to NCIX, so I figured that it was a good choice

PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W