dreadllokz

Distinguished
Mar 2, 2010
Hello everyone! This is my first Thread and english is not my first language, sry about that.

I have some knowledge in hardware, but I need to know if someone has experience in this particular scenario.

I have a Pentium 4 3.2 HT! I can overclock it a little with my H50... something @3.5 stable because my ram and my mb can't help me.

I live in Brazil, and a New Gaming rig, even a i3 or 4100 based rig is very expensive, so I wanna give some more life to my old rig, till I can get the money to build a proper gaming PC like 2500k and a gtx660 maybe.

So, my PC:

Corsair 400w
P5QPL-AM
P4 3.2HT@3.5
3Gb DDR2 667
Win7 32Bits Ultimate

I want a video card... I know about the bottleneck of the P4, and I know that this is not the best way to go... thing is, I can't build another rig right now, and I want to make light gaming, on board video is sux even for 720p movies in jungle or fast scenes.

Im thinking about a HD6670... but I can't find any tests online to see if it is worth to get a 6670 other then the 6650, of course, for the next build, the 6670 i gonna save some money to start, but I don't worry much about it, I just want the best I can have for my Pentium 4 and Corsair 400w.

The doubt:

Is it worth to get a 6670 for a Pentium 4? Or will it performe the same as the 6570 because of the CPU bottleneck?

Tyvm any help or experience is apreciated, and sry again for my bad english.

Solution

I can't quite remember but it was something from the x1 series as it had an AGP slot, but it was quite a while ago, atleast 5 years.

For cost/performance have you looked at APUs?

But here is what I think: buy the 6670 if you plan on reusing it in your newbuild, if not go with the cheapest you can find like a 5450 or something.

Check out some benchmarks the 6670 isn't a bad card by any stretch I was using one to game at 1920 x 1080, most games played atleast medium.

dreadllokz

Distinguished
Mar 2, 2010
Ty Supermuncher85.