Sign in with
Your question

Ambitious Home Network: Virtualizing WHS 2011

Last response: in Systems
July 27, 2012 4:17:00 PM

Hello everyone,

Let me lay down some background about me, my equipment, and what I am trying to accomplish.

This will be my second home-built computer. The first one was a gaming rig I built last year which has been running great without any issues whatsoever. I have never used a Server OS. I have about 15 minutes experience with a Virtual Machine. I am only fluent in Microsoft OSs. My current setups are both Windows 7. I am not an expert in computer but I am also not a novice. I consider myself to be somewhat advanced as far as understanding Windows 7.

I want to built a home network that will have 1 Gaming PC, 1 HTPC, 1 XBOX 360 (or possibly a purchased Nettop if the XBOX 360 doesn't fulfill my wants), and then this new build as a Home Server.

Currently, I am confined to my bedroom with my Gaming PC (for gaming, obviously) and my HTPC. I am moving and planning my setup to be something like this: Gaming PC and this new build "Home Server" in a spare room, HTPC in the living room, and XBOX 360 (possibly Nettop) in the Bedroom. Just so you know the XBOX 360 is primarily for watching TV Shows and Movies being streamed from the new build "Home Server". It's possible it will be used for the occasional gaming depending if I can rig it to hook up to a TV in the bedroom and also a TV in the living room. Logistically it's possible since these two rooms share a wall. But I digress.

As for my Gaming PC, I want to leave it purely for gaming and web browsing. My new build will not have games nor be used to browse the internet besides for the obvious like downloading drivers and software.