Not sure how to change build

brthevio

Honorable
Jul 27, 2012
Hello,

I am getting ready to build my first gaming rig. I am pretty new to all of this. I was looking at a setup with an i5 processor but at this point I am looking at getting the most out of the money as far as gaming quality and FPS.

The build I was looking at used the i5 2500k with this mobo. ASrock Z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3 Motherboard. What mobo would be online with this one that supports the Phenom II X4 965?

brthevio

Honorable
Jul 27, 2012
actually. I will just post what the complete parts list of the build I was looking at. That way everyone can see what it is I am looking for overall.

Intel Core i5 2500K CPU
ASrock Z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3 Motherboard
G.Skill 8gb RAM kit
WD Caviar Blue 3.5" 500Gb SATA 3 HDD
Silicon Power 60Gb SSD
Corsair TX-850 V2 Power Supply
Corsair Graphite 600T Special Edition White Case
XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 Universal CPU Water Cooling Kit
XFX Radeon 6870 Graphics Card

Ok, so this was the build I was looking at, I am thinking if I go with the Phenom Cpu and a compatible Mobo and save a few bucks it would be great. Any suggestions on how to get the most "bang for the buck" would be greatly appreciated.

To give you an idea, I got injured at work in 2009 and have ALOT of time to kill. But workman's comp does not pay near what I was making so it limits my budget. I am figuring I will have in the area of $800-1000 to spend. Sitting at $800 readily available but can wait a few weeks to save a bit more if needed. I play world of warcraft and that is what the build will be for.

G

first IF you decide to go AMD please stick with an AM3+ socket, so if piledriver is all that you will be able to upgrade.
also a 850 watt PSU is so overkill. a quality 550 watt PSU will handle any cpu and single graphics card solution.

brthevio

Honorable
Jul 27, 2012