Sign in with
Your question

Sapphire HD 6870 99% activity all the time

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
June 6, 2012 3:22:01 PM

Hey, I got the Sapphire HD 6870 about two months back (without OC, haven't touched anything related to that), once it was installed on my system i started playing, everything went smooth until I realized a lot of noise is coming out of the system - so I thought i'dd check with the Catalyst Control Center - Apparently the GPU is at 99% activity THE WHOLE TIME, even when I write a word document, so I found the 12.6 beta drivers and thought i'dd give it a try - I installed the beta, and the GPU worked fine (0-5% activity on rest, about 70-80 activity while gaming) also - the noise completely disappeared and the temp dropped significantly - almost steady 80C on rest and 90C while gaming before the update, 40C on rest and 60 while gaming after the update - thing is, I checked in the "about" and apparently my version stayed at 12.0522 like it wasn't updated at all! also - after I turned off my computer and back on - the problem returned, I already tried updating- deleting all the drivers and re-installing and same thing happens all over again.
My question is: is this a hardware related issue and I need to go to the store that sold (and installed the GPU on my system) me the Graphics Card? Or can I resolve this with a software solution?

thanks in advance and sorry for the drilling :) 
June 6, 2012 3:27:49 PM

It's drivers related. I'd advice reinstalling windows because it seems like Catalyst Control Center is bugged.
June 6, 2012 3:33:25 PM

Could be a virus. I've heard rumors about viruses that run bitcoin on the target computer, which would result in exactly what you're seeing. Reinstalling the GPU drivers would have broken it until the computer restarted.

Run a virus scan.
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
June 6, 2012 3:39:50 PM