Sign in with
Your question

Is this happening because my PSU is too low?

Last response: in Components
December 11, 2012 12:44:19 AM

This is my first build. I changed BIOS to boot from the DVD drive so that I could install Windows. Before this change, my system booted just fine, but after changing BIOS to boot from disk, my computer is not able to complete the boot process. Instead, it seems to get stuck at the DVD drive, which makes a loud clicking noise before the whole thing powers off. Then it powers back on, repeats the boot attempt and powers back off again. This cycle continues until I hold down the power button.

I'll include a complete list of my components below, but in short, my PSU is 500w and my GPU requires a minimum of 500w and +12volt current rating of 30 amps. Is the extra power directed to the DVD drive creating insufficient power for the rest of the system so the whole thing powers off? That I need a higher power PSU is my best guess for why this is happening, but I'd like some opinions (confirmation or otherwise) before purchasing a new PSU.

Here are my components.

Case: Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Power Supply: COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power Plus RS500-PCARD3-US 500W ATX12V v2.3 Power Supply

Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I73770K

Motherboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH Z77 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Memory: Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Hard Drive: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL

Video Card: EVGA 02G-P4-2678-KR GeForce GTX 670 FTW 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Thanks for your input!

More about : happening psu low

a b ) Power supply
December 11, 2012 1:11:52 AM